Help Keep NJ's Film Tax Credit

I received the following letter from Joseph Guerriero of Tax Credits LLC. Film tax credits are job stimuli. As tough times as these are, it is foolish for any state to dis-incentivize films, and all the money they bring, from shooting in their state. Follow Joseph's advice, and write to the representatives and urge it's passage.

Senator Paul A. Sarlo, Chairman of the Senate Budget and Appropriations Committee, has called a special public Committee hearing to discuss the future of New Jersey’s Film and Digital Media Tax Credit Program. The Hearing will take place on Wednesday, June 9th, from 11:00 am – 1:00 pm at NBC/Universal’s “Mercy” Studio,10 Enterprise Avenue North in Secaucus (just off Meadowlands Parkway).

Introduced last November, the Garden State Film and Digital Media Jobs Act,(Senate, No.3002), which was co-sponsored by Senators Paul Sarlo and Thomas Kean Jr, seeks to enhance the current tax credit program for attract even more films to the state, stimulate local business and create more jobs. Unfortunately, the new administration has proposed suspending the current program altogether for Fiscal Year 2011 (which begins on July 1, 2010).

At the June 9 public hearing, the Budget and Appropriations Committee will invite testimony from those who would be affected by even a temporary suspension of the program. We will hear from production-related businesses, individuals whose livelihood depend on a continuous stream of production in New Jersey, filmmakers, producers and of course the production companies that will not consider filming in NJ without an economic incentive!

Please make every effort to attend this hearing. At this critical juncture, your presence and support is essential to the survival of the program!

If you are unable to attend this important event, please consider sending letters in support of the program to the individuals, below:

Senator – Chairman of Budget and Appropriations Committee The Hon. Paul A. Sarlo 207 Hackensack Street, 2nd Floor Wood Ridge, NJ 07075 201-804-8118

Senator – Senate Minority Leader The Hon. Thomas H. Kean Jr. 425 North Street East Westfield, NJ 07090 908-232-3673

Senator – Senate Majority Leader The Hon. Barbara Buono 2 Lincoln Highway, Suite 401 Edison, NJ 08820 732-205-1372

Senator – Senate President The Hon. Stephen M. Sweeney Kingsway Commons 935 Kings Highway, Suite 400 Thorofare, NJ 08086-2238 856-251-9801

Senator – Assistant Majority Leader The Hon. M. Teresa Ruiz 166 Bloomfield Ave. Newark, NJ 07104 973-484-1000

Assemblyman – Assembly Speaker The Hon. Sheila Oliver 15-33 Halsted St., Suite 202 East Orange, NJ 07018 973-395-1166

Assemblyman – Assembly Majority Leader The Hon. Joseph Cryan 985 Stuyvesant Ave. Union, NJ 07083-6909 908-624-0880

Assemblyman – Budget Chair The Hon. Louis Greenwald 1103 Laurel Oak Rd., Suite 142 Vorhees, NJ 08043 856-435-1247

Governor The Hon. Chris Christie State House P.O. Box 001 Trenton, NJ 08625 609-292-6000

Lt. Governor The Hon. Kim Guadagno State House P.O. Box 001 Trenton, NJ 08625 609-292-6000

Treasurer Andrew Sidamon-Eristoff State Treasurer 125 West State St., Box 002 Trenton, NJ 08625-0002 609-292-3078