SFIFF57 Golden Gate Award and New Directors Prize Winners

The 57th San Francisco International Film Festival announced the winners of the juried Golden Gate Award and New Directors Prize competitions at an event held at Rouge | Nick’s Crispy Tacos. This year the Festival awarded nearly $40,000 in prizes to emerging and established filmmakers from 13 countries around the globe. Also, announced are the SFIFF57 Audience Awards! See the full list of winners and jurors below.

The New Directors jury was composed of Filmmaker Magazine Editor-in-Chief Scott Macaulay, Fandor cofounder Jonathan Marlow and writer Ella Taylor.

New Directors Prize: History of FearBenjamín Naishtat (Argentina/France/Germany/Qatar/Uruguay)

  • Winner receives $10,000 cash prize

Special Jury Recognition: White Shadow, Noaz Deshe (Italy/Germany/Tanzania), The Amazing Catfish, Claudia Sainte-Luce (Mexico)

The Golden Gate Award Documentary feature competition jury was comprised of filmmaker Rob Epstein, journalist Nathan Heller, and Film Society of Lincoln Center Co-Executive Director Lesli Klainberg.

Golden Gate Award Documentary Feature Winners

Documentary Feature: The Overnighters, Jesse Moss (USA)

  • Winner receives $10,000 cash prize

Bay Area Documentary Feature: The Last Season, Sara Dosa (USA)

  • Winner receives $5,000 cash prize

Special jury recognition: Return to Homs, Talal Derki (Syria/Germany)

The Golden Gate Award Short Film jury consisted of journalist Jonathan Kiefer, author Vendela Vida and filmmaker Diana Williams.

Golden Gate Award Short Film Winners

Narrative Short (tie): The Birds' Blessing, Serge Mirzabekiantz, (Belgium)

So You've Grown Attached, Kate Tsang (USA)

  • Winners each receive $1,000 cash prize

Documentary Short: The High Five, Michael Jacobs (USA)

  • Winner receives $2,000 cash prize

Animated Short: The Missing Scarf, Eion Duffy (Ireland)

  • Winner receives $2,000 cash prize

Bay Area Short (tie): Santa Cruz del Islote, Luke Lorentzen (USA)

No One but Lydia, Rob Richert (USA)

  • Winners each receive $1,250 cash prize

New Visions Short: Numbers & Friends, Alexander Carson (Canada)

  • Winner receives $1,500 cash prize

The Family Film jury was teacher Donna Lee, writer Nicki Richesin and artist Jeena Wolfe.

Family Film: The Dam Keeper, Robert Kondo, Dice Tsutsumi (USA)

  • Winner receives $500 cash prize

Family Film Honorable Mention: The Numberlys, WIlliam Joyce, Brandon Oldenburg (USA)

The Youth Works jury was Davis Avila, Sophie Edelhart and Julia Pollak, all local high school students.

Youth Work: Epitaph, Charles Blecker (USA)

  • Winner receives $500 cash prize

Youth Work Honorable Mention: Bay Area Girls Rock, Lily Yu, Judy Lee, Jeremiah Mellor (USA)

SFIFF57 Audience Awards

Best Narrative Feature: Dear White People, Justin Simien (USA)

Best Documentary Feature: The Other One: The Long Strange Trip of Bob Weir, Mike Fleiss (USA)